top of page

Taking it easy

I've been pretty busy on the music front for the last three years, although not as industrious as some people I know but certainly releasing far more stuff than many. I was looking at how many albums I've released since joining Bandcamp in April 2014. Bugger me!


In 2014 I released twenty-four albums. Two a month! I also did two collaborations and tracks for five compilations.


In 2015 I released seventeen albums, appeared on sixteen compilations and did three collaborations.


In 2016 there were twenty-one album releases, sixteen compilation appearances and four collaborations.


This year, 2017, I've only released five albums (so far), done five collaborations and appeared on sixteen compilations. But in addition I've started the Private Collection series - nineteen albums so far - and started issuing Subscriber Only releases - two at the moment. However I still have four Droneseries albums to release, two more Subscriber Only albums completed and three normal albums ready to release.


That's a shit-load of music. Overall I've reached 100 full albums (solo and collaboration) ignoring all the individual tracks done for Naviar Haiku, compilations, Cities & Memory, Disquiet Junto and tracks on Soundcloud, amongst others.


Now a lot of the early albums on Bandcamp have been deleted on account of the fact that a) they were crap, b) no one listened to them, and c) no on bought them. They no longer exist anywhere (that I know of). There's something strangely cathartic about having a purge and many artists have done this over the centuries.


Lot's of music and different genres. I've never bothered working out how many hours of listening that would be because who cares?


Next year will be a take it easy year. I've got enough unreleased albums on Bandcamp to release one a month up to May 2018 or December 2018 if I release one every two months (maybe I'll do that. Probably not).


I also recently deleted all my field recordings. Everything I've recorded around the house or out and about has gone. Also cathartic. The reason being I've used those sounds a lot and they have grown stale for me. It's time to record new sounds to bugger around with.


I can use next year to plan what I want to do and give myself more time to process the field recordings. Maybe save up and buy a good recording device and better speakers (depending on what happens in the real world). I'll still carry on with side projects though - collaborations, tracks for compilations, Cities & Memory etc.




Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page