top of page

Better do an update then.

Apart from the two album reviews yesterday I noticed I haven't blogged anything since March. Oops. But sometimes life gets in the way and these things are apt to slip the mind. So an update is probably in order. Or not. But here it is anyway.


Exciting things are in the offing, some closer in time than others. Firstly there's Black Box Recordings. They will be releasing a 16 track album of mine called In the Poignant Void at some point in the future. The first release will be Witch Hammer Reflux by Bedtime For Robots. Their second release will be Scheisse Kunst by the League of Morons. BBR are dedicated to music on the edge, music with a difference. They will prove to be challenging yet rewarding listening. Their Bandcamp page is here: Black Box Recordings.


There are a few tracks due to come out on various compilations and whatnot over the next few months but most of these are schtum at the moment. News will be released as and when.


I started a subscription on my Bandcamp page a few weeks ago. For £15 per year the lucky subscriber gets four exclusive releases a year, one a quarter. These releases will be in different genres depending on my mood; rather like my ordinary releases then. So far two people have signed up for the subscription service so I'm doing better than I expected. It's a curious to think that these subscription-only releases will literally be heard by only two people (so far) in the entire world. There's a part of my musical soul which rather likes that idea. The first release, on the 1st of July, will be Vitreus. This recording was made using just glass items.


At the moment I have seven albums ready to be released (excluding the In the Poignant Void album. These include an unnamed Berlin School sequencer album, because I felt the urge to do a retro-70s style album again. An album called The Pilgrimage that was originally for something else but that fell through. There's the Cornish album that has been hanging around for the last year or more. An album called Reverse Engineering which is a combination of found sounds, field recordings and VSTs which I actually did late last year. There's the I Beheld a Sound which is purely field recordings and will be the second of my "Found Sound" releases. There's also a couple of others which are up in the air at the moment. I may release one of these as a subscriber only album.


I have been toying with the idea of offering private releases. This is an idea which appeals to me and has done for a long time. It's hardly a new idea and I first came across it many years ago when I stumbled across Conrad Schnitzler's website. His website gave no details other than an email address to contact him. Somewhere on the net there was a list of the hundreds of private recordings he had made and could only be purchased via him. Back then they would be shipped from him as CDs. I'd like to do that one day but at the moment I'm thinking of only offering them as maybe a zip file which I'd email the music (and artwork) to the purchaser. Or maybe there's something I could do via Bandcamp. It's something I'll have to think through a bit more.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page